State Of The Vault Sites Report: Right Now I’m Loathing Web 2.0

Music ‘Missing (Todd Terry Remix)’ by Everything But The Girl

I guess I am something of a bad blog mommy in that I have been very slow to update pages here but you need to look at things from my perspective:

1) I still have ungodly numbers of photos to scan in and up load to Flickr in some semblance of order…this does not include items that either do not fit on my scanner…
2)…for which I either need to buy or borrow a digital camera…
3)…or in the case of my slides for which I need to get access to a decent slide scanner. I have spent a week or so trying to fake it with my scanner and various kinds of backlighting and my scanner is simply not going to let me do what I want to do. It has me very annoyed to say the least.
4) There are all kinds of ‘next level’ things I need to start doing (for example: text files anyone?) but I am having trouble figuring out the best way to get them online and make them organized and usable…
5)…and yet not look as God-awful and cluttered as a lot of the badly implemented sites out there like Blogger and Myspace etc. I hate ads and dancing hamsters and unrelated crap on pages, especially when they’re under my control.
6) Then there is some truly rare video that I have to figure out how to efficiently get into an uploadable form and get uploaded for which I could either drag my eMac out of the basement…
7)…and upgrade its OS and finally learn how to use my Formac Studio TV and Final Cut Pro plus set up its external hard disk…
8)…or outsource the job to a friend which involves stuff being sent out of state etc.
9) Then of course there is email in my inboxes at various sites plugging new Web 2.0 apps which promise to be fabulous…
10)…but most of which are duplicative of my efforts here, waste my time, and produce ugly useless and/or pointless results (like Squidoo or Twitter).
11) Of course there is stuff to be organized before it can be digitizied and uploaded.
12) There is maintenance to be done at the sites I care about (here, Flickr, You Tube, and Musicwebtown)
13) There are post topics I need to get up here already…
14)…some of which are the continuation of old topics…
15)…and some of which are new topics.
16) Couple all the above with stuff still being found and acquired for my collection…
17)…requests to join discussion groups (which respectfully and regretfully right now I have to turn down for now)…
18)…emails to be answered (and I am trying hard to catch up on them…I enjoy answering your questions and am trying to do a good job on that with each one so pardon my snail’s pace)…
19)…and real life demands…
20…and color me overwhelmed.

So if I go AWOL for stretches of time it’s not because I don’t like doing what I am doing or I hate the people who come here. It’s actually exactly the opposite. But my creative process is just extremely slow. I wish it were faster, but I prefer good, thorough and well thought-out over fast.

Others who are either blogging or running websites or discussion forums or make videos online etc will understand this lack of swiftness intuitively.

My only frustration is with my tools to do what I am doing. I’m not mad at anyone other than maybe the people who make such klunky software and myself for not being instantly able to figure out their ‘neat toys’.

Leave a Reply

