Stuff To Read: Two Articles on VDO Films from GreenCine

It is wonderful to see GreenCine doing so well. Despite the fact that NetFlix is more famous for doing DVD rentals by mail, GreenCine stocks *interesting* movies, not whatever the home video divisions of the majors are currently shoving down the throats of home video audiences (who curiously enough weren’t all that enthralled by the same stuff that was in theaters just a few months ago).

GreenCine also has interesting articles to read at its site — I’ll refer you to two:

1) From an article on Brad Anderson, director of the movie ‘Happy Accidents’ with Marisa Tomei and VDO

“And I was lucky to get people like Marisa Tomei, who is a great comedic actress as well as a good dramatic actress, and [VDO], giving him a part that was a little unconventional”.

http://www.greencine.com/article?action=view&articleID=213 

2) From an article on Mike Mills, director of the movie ‘Thumbsucker’ with VDO, Lou Taylor Pucci, Tilda Swinton, Keanu Reeves, Kelli Garner, Vince Vaughn, & Ben Bratt.

“[VDO], just his body… this 6-foot-5, big hulking body that can’t tiptoe into a room. I remember we did one scene where he enters, I’m like, “Vincent, you’re just storming down the hallway. Can you enter more quietly?” He’s like, “Mike, I’m 259 pounds, I’m six-five, I don’t tiptoe. I can’t.” I was like, “Oh, that’s Mike Cobb.” Vincent has a huge heart. Vincent is actually a very soft spoken, sweet, sweet person who’s also a bull. That’s Mike! That’s what I’m looking for when I meet them. Can they be that? Acting-wise, I can’t tell… I don’t know”.

http://www.greencine.com/article?action=view&articleID=236

Leave a Reply

