From Forbes.com: VDO On Dealing With The Media

Appropriate music ‘Talk Talk’ by Talk Talk

YES!!!!
 
Can I just say that I now feel even better about my negative DASH/’fangurl’ experience and my lack of interest in online discussion, having just found *this* at Forbes Magazine (yeah, it’s in Forbes the financial/business magazine, not some tabloid). And now I’m glad I try not to watch VDO interviews on shows like ‘The View’ and when I do see him in that context, I understand why my reaction is one of apprehension and empathy. I wouldn’t want to have to go on talk shows, either.
 
FYI Forbes.com has a whole bunch of thought-provoking online articles on communicating and VDO’s piece is in with articles from leading edge thinkers and researchers like Noam Chomsky and Vint Cerf (one of the *real* co-inventors of the Internet). How cool is this, for VDO to be included in such an iconoclastic group?!
 
Vincent D’Onofrio On Dealing With The Media October 24, 2005 9:00 AM ET

http://www.forbes.com/2005/10/21/donofrio-vincent-acting-cx_pk_1024donofrio_comm05.html
“Vincent D’Onofrio is an actor and producer whose credits include the movies ‘Full Metal Jacket’, ‘Steal This Movie’, and ‘Men In Black’. He currently plays detective Robert Goren on the TV program Law & Order: ‘Criminal Intent’.

Being a public figure is terrible. It changes everything. It makes all the uninteresting stuff more important than what was really interesting in the beginning: storytelling and how to do it properly. So much other crap comes in. There’s so much other stuff going on, because of the media, and the Internet, that it’s ruined a lot of the fun. If I had to do it over, I probably would have done something where I have to talk to people a lot less.

But I’ll support a film if I like it. I’ll do morning shows, print work and things like this. But I won’t do talk shows. The talk show thing, I tried when I was a kid and I just failed miserably. On a talk show, you have to entertain. In other settings, it’s up to the journalist, or the person who’s interviewing you, to make it a lively interview. But on those late night shows, if you’re not an entertainer in that way, you’re just going to fail miserably. They expect you to come in and have a little routine. I have friends that are good actors and they do that stuff really well. It’s just that some people can’t do it. I can’t.

Excerpted from an interview with Peter Kafka on Oct. 14, 2005.”
 

Leave a Reply

